User access levels

A guide to the user access levels in FreeAgent and how to set a user's access level.

FreeAgent permission levels allow users to perform different activities and see different data in a FreeAgent account.

If you can't perform a particular function in FreeAgent, such as posting journal entries or marking a VAT return as filed, it is likely that your user access level doesn't allow you to do this. Only the FreeAgent account holder can set or modify users' access levels, so you will need to speak to them if you want to change yours for any reason.

The access levels in FreeAgent

Here's a quick run-down of the user access levels in FreeAgent, what they allow users to do and what they prohibit users from doing.

Level 0 - no access

Users with level 0 access cannot log in to FreeAgent at all.

Level 1 - time

Users with level 1 access can:

  • create and edit their own timeslips
  • create their own timeslip reports
  • create and edit their own tasks

Users with level 1 access can't:

  • see billing rates (except for default project billing rates) or any other financial information
  • see payslips
  • see expenses

Level 2 - my money

In addition to all permissions from level 1, users with level 2 access can:

  • create and edit their own expenses
  • upload attachments to expenses
  • view their own salary and payslips (if applicable)
  • view and download dividends

Users with level 2 access can't see billing rates or other financial information.

Level 3 - contacts and projects

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 3 access can:

  • create and edit contacts
  • create and edit projects

Users with level 3 access can't:

  • see any invoices, expenses or bills not related to a particular project
  • view the details of expenses, bills and bank transactions linked to projects

Level 4 - invoices, estimates and files

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 4 access can:

  • create and edit invoices and estimates
  • create and edit email templates
  • upload files
  • create timeslip reports
  • enable online payment options

Users with level 4 access can't see purchases, or bank transactions.

Level 5 - bills

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 5 access can create and edit bills.

Users with level 5 access can't see bank transactions.

Level 6 - banking

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 6 access can:

  • create and edit bank accounts
  • import and explain bank statements
  • set up bank feeds (if available)

Users with level 6 access can't see accounting reports.

Level 7 - tax, accounting and users

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 7 access can:

  • view VAT returns, Corporation Tax (limited companies only) and tax timeline
  • view subscription details and referrals
  • view payroll
  • view and edit Self Assessment tax returns
  • create and edit users
  • create and edit stock items
  • edit account settings

Users with level 7 access can't:

  • file Self Assessment tax returns
  • file VAT returns
  • post journals
  • use the 'export all data' feature

Level 8 - full access

In addition to all previous permissions, users with level 8 access can:

  • create and edit journal entries
  • run and file payroll
  • manage and submit VAT returns
  • file Self Assessment tax returns (if available)
  • delete all company data
  • use the 'export all data' feature

Setting a new user's access level

To set a new user's access level, navigate to Settings and Users, then select 'Add new user'. Complete the required details about the user and then select the appropriate access level with the 'user permission's slider. When you're happy with the information you've entered and the access level you've set for the user, select 'Create new user'.

full_access

Changing an existing user's access level

To change an existing user's access level, navigate to Settings and Users, and then select the user's name from the list. To change their access level, simply slide the 'user permissions' slider up or down as appropriate. When you're happy with the access level you've set, select 'Save changes'.

Did you find this article useful?

We're glad to hear that!

...and thanks for taking the time to feed back, it's appreciated.

We’re sorry to hear that. Would you like to...

Contact our support team

Our friendly, experienced support team are on hand to help - just email us at support@freeagent.com

Send us some feedback...

We'd love to hear your feedback about this article - please email details to support@freeagent.com